Teacher Awards

Teacher Awards

John Laing Awards

Kathryn Fogarty, Principal of Assumption College, Kilmore, was officially recognised for her dedication to education and professional learning in the annual John Laing Awards for Professional Development, managed by the Principals Australia Institute.




ACEL Scholarship for ICT Teacher

Anthony Speranza, ICT Learning & Teaching Leader at St Mark’s School, Dingley, was awarded a 2017 New Voice scholarship for Educational Leadership from the Australian Council for Educational Leaders.




A Day Made Better teaching award

Will Kent, a graduate teacher at St Francis of Assisi School, Mill Park, was nominated for the A Day Made Better teaching award. A Year 4 teacher and former Marcellin College student, received many messages of support from the community since his nomination.




Defenders of the Patka (Sikh head covering)

The Sikh body Sikhs United awarded principal Gerard Broadfoot and Learning and Teaching Leader Michelle Buckley from Mother of God School, Ardeer, the title Defender of the Sikh Dastar for their sensitive handling of an incident at the school.


A five-year-old Sikh student at Mother of God School, Ardeer, by the name Mansage had his patka (Sikh head covering) accidentally removed by another student. The incident was brought to the attention of Gerard and Michelle who searched YouTube and found there instructions on how to retie the patka. They managed a reasonable retying of the patka and contacted Mansage’s father who came up to the school and applied the finishing touches.



Sir John Monash Award for Sustainability Leadership

Deborah Butler, Sustainability Coordinator at St Justin’s School (Wheelers Hill) was awarded the 2017 Sir John Monash Award for Sustainability Leadership by the City of Monash at the Monash Gallery of Art. The Awards recognise volunteers who contribute to their community.




ResourceSmart Teacher of the Year (Secondary)

Kelly Jenkins, teacher at St Joseph’s College, Geelong, was named Teacher of the Year (Secondary) at the 2017 ResourceSmart School Awards.